Lime Curd Tart with Coconut Whipped Cream

IMG_2988 copy

I recently read that we like to complicate things when it is really quite simple. It said, “Find what it is that makes you happy and who it is that makes you happy and you’re set.”

But because we are creatures born to make every inch and second of life complicated, finding what and who that makes you happy is really quite difficult. Even when we have found the ‘what’ and the ‘who’, we’ll somehow still find a way to make it complicated.

Baking makes me happy. Simple enough right? No, I worry about being overly passionate about it and consequentially over-baking and wasting perfectly good food. It is either that or an expanding waistline.

You see what I mean about being a creature that will complicate even the simplest pleasure in life?

IMG_2971 copy

This weekend, I made an exception. I will not worry about all the baking goods I will have lying about with the amount of baking I plan on doing. I mean, who cares about baking too much and having too much sweet goods lying around? Since when has that kill anyone? Never. So I settled for what is simple and that is to bake to my heart’s content and not worry about the consequences. Let’s live in the now and it need not be complicated. We’ll worry about everything else later.

There, I focused on the ‘what’ that makes me happy.

IMG_2973 copy

I baked. There were lots of coconuts involved – I’m obsessed. I made another batch of Mocha Granola because Mr. Snax is a fan and I have decided it will be the perfect substitute for the Weet-bix that I’ve been having for breakfast every Monday to Friday for the past 1.5 years. Then I made the Coconut Dream Cookies – triple dose of coconut. It involves coconut oil, coconut flakes and coconut glaze. We will talk about that a little later, because right now, I want to bring to you my pride and joy – Lime Curd Tart with Coconut Whipped Cream.

I finally mastered the art of making tart shell – no weights involved and there were no shrinking. Mind if I pump my fist in the air of victory?

IMG_2975 copy

IMG_2983 copy

Creating the coconut whipped cream was another art of its own. The coconut cream needs to be refrigerated, unmoved, for at least 8 hours. This separates the juice from the cream. Once chilled, turn the can upside down, open the lid and remove the juice. Only use the white part. Along with some icing sugar, I whipped the cream in frenzy for 5 minutes straight. Okay, the Mix Master did. When done, it looks like soft meringue – one fluffy dream.

As this is the first time I’ve ever made curd, I was unsure of what to expect but I think it worked – gooey and smooth.

To be honest with you, I’m not a fan of citrus-y dessert so I cannot understand why I was so persistent on making this tart. Perhaps it is because there is coconut involved or maybe it just looks so pretty.

IMG_2986 copy

IMG_2989 copy

I have another confession; I went nuts with the coconut whipped cream. I was only meant to top the lime curd with ONE cup of coconut whipped cream. Guess who topped at least THREE cups in there? Me. This is when I want to just run into a wall, again and again.

At least it’s pretty. Really really pretty actually.

So if you like lime curd and enjoy coconut and think both of them are a match made in heaven, you may have just found your paradise.

IMG_2994 copy

*Note: Because the lime curd is gooey, I recommend this be made as mini individual tarts instead. Cutting this 10-inch tart is a bit of a mission and get pretty messy.

****

Lime Curd Tart with Coconut Whipped Cream
Recipe adapted from Pastry Affair
Yields 10-inch round (or rectangular) tart

Tart Crust
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup powdered sugar
115 grams cold butter, cubed
1 large egg
2-4 tablespoons ice water

Using a food processor, process flour, salt, powdered sugar and butter until the dough resembles coarse crumbs. Transfer the dough into a large mixing bowl. Add in the egg and 2 tablespoons water and mix until the dough comes together. If the dough is still dry and cumbly, add more water by the tablespoon until it does.

Press dough into a tart pan as evenly as possible. Stab the bottom and sides several times with a fork. Freeze dough for 15 minutes and refrigerate for a further 30 minutes before baking.

Preheat oven to 180°C.

Bake the tart shell for 15 to 18 minutes, or until it is lightly coloured. Allow to cool completely before filling.

Lime Curd
1 cup granulated sugar
Zest from 2 limes
2 large eggs
120 ml freshly squeezed lime juice, about 5 limes
58 grams butter, cut into small squares

In a double boiler, combine the sugar and lemon zest. Mix together with your fingers until fragrant. Whisk in the eggs and lime juice.

Cook the mixture until it thickens, whisking constantly. It should take about 10 to 15 minutes, however, if the curd is not thick enough, continue whisking and cook for another 5 minutes. The thickened curd should be able to coat the back of a spoon.

Remove from heat and allow to cool for a few minutes before adding the butter, whisk until smooth.

Refrigerate the curd for at least 30 minutes before using.

Coconut Whipped Cream

200 ml full-fat coconut milk/cream
1/2 tablespoon powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Refrigerate the coconut cream for at least 8 hours, untouched. This will allow the coconut cream to separate from the juice. Once cold, flip over the can, open it and remove the juice.

Place the thick white coconut cream into a mixing bowl and whisk in the powdered sugar and extract. Whisk continuously for 5 to 7 minutes until it thickens and get soft peaks.

Refrigerate whipped cream until needed.

To Assemble
1 cup coconut whipped cream (lightly sweetened whipped cream or even cool whip can be substituted)
Lime zest, for garnish

Spread lime curd evenly in the tart shell. Using a spoon, dollop the whipped cream randomly over the tart and swirl in with a knife. Garnish with lime zest.

Refrigerate in an airtight container until ready to serve.

2 thoughts on “Lime Curd Tart with Coconut Whipped Cream

    • I totally think you should. It was the best part of making this tart! It’s so…FLUFFY. Like a bowl of clouds! Definitely therapeutic. I bet it’ll be delicious in a mug of hot chocolate (sorry, it’s almost winter here and I’m cold!).

Leave a comment