Mrs Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies – The Ice Breaker

IMG_3480 copy
First of all, let me apologize for being away for so long. I have legitimate reasons, I promise! Once you hear me out, you’ll be ready to forgive me.

IMG_3481 copy

Started my new job two weeks ago (you’re starting to get it aren’t you?) and it has been really good – making new friends, learning everything new. There is so much going on sometimes I feel like I’m going way faster than I can cope. But that is just me – everything is always done with so much urgency.

IMG_3484 copy

Okay, that’s all I have. Am I forgiven yet?

If not, I’ll just have to feed you cookies. Just like I did to people at work.

IMG_3486 copy

Has it ever crossed your mind that the best ice-breaker in this whole wide world is cookies? Cause I brought a dozen of cookies into work on my 2nd week and we all had a good time discussing about how chocolate chip cookies are so utterly irresistible and how they go into the mouth and sit on the hip. Awkwardness – what awkwardness?!

So if I share with you some of Mrs Fields chocolate cookies, you’ll just have to forgive me and be my friend again. Do believe me when I say these lots of cookies are thick and chewy and ooze with chocolate goodness with every SINGLE bite.

IMG_3491 copy

The next time you’re trying to make friends, bring a few dozens of these cookies with you. Works like magic.

Enjoy – Happy Sunday!

IMG_3496 copy

****

Mrs Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe adapted from Butter Baking
Makes 36 cookies

Ingredients

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
½ cup white sugar
220g salted butter, cold and cubed small
½ tsp instant espresso powder, optional
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
2½ cups plain flour
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
2 cups chocolate chips

Method

In a mixer bowl, stir together both sugars. Add the cold, cubed butter to the sugar and mix on medium speed until paste is formed.

Add vanilla, espresso powder (if using) and eggs, one at a time. Beat until just combined.

Fold in the flour, baking soda, salt and chocolate. Do not over mix – stop once dough is formed. Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes.

In the meantime, pre-heat oven to 150°C and line trays with baking paper.

Use either a cookie scoop or a tablespoon, scoop even balls of dough onto prepared trays – leave 2.5cm space in between to allow spreading.

Bake cookies for 20 to 22 minutes. Transfer cookies to cooling rack immediately.

Leave a Reply

