Chocolate Sorbet

IMG_3526 copy
I really don’t have much time to sit down as of late, what more to spend time writing. So I didn’t get to share with you this piece of exciting news.

I bought a Cuisinart Ice-cream maker.

IMG_3510 copy

IMG_3511 copy

Who cares that there is absolutely no place left in my home to store any new piece of kitchen equipment. Actually there is no space left in my tiny little apartment for anything at all. The pair of heels I bought a month ago took the last tiny little spot available. But really, no biggie. I’ll figure something up soon enough. It has only been sitting on my dining table for the last two weeks.

While figuring out where to place it, I have managed to test it out – twice. To ceremoniously welcome the new addition into my home, I made Coconut Ice-Cream. It was good, but it wasn’t great texture-wise. Something I will fix in coming days as I am a huge fan of coconut. In fact, it was my craving for coconut ice-cream that convinced me that I need an ice-cream maker to survive.

IMG_3521 copy

The second time around, I made Chocolate sorbet – rich and amazing. Texture was perfect. This is truly for chocolate fans. It doesn’t call for many ingredients – no need for cream or egg yolk. So, doesn’t this mean it is almost guilt-less treat? Yes, possibly – if you don’t have a massive bowl in one sitting like I did! Or make it into a chocolate banana smoothie. Or sandwich it in between choux pastry. Oh yeah, I’m unstoppable with this sorbet.

IMG_3546 copy

******

Chocolate Sorbet
Recipe from Smitten Kitchen
Makes 1 liter

Ingredients

2 ¼ cups water
1 cup sugar
¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
Pinch of salt
170g bittersweet dark chocolate
½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Methods

In a large saucepan, whisk together 1 ½ cups water with sugar, cocoa powder and salt. Bring to boil, whisk continuously. As it boils, continue whisking for 45 seconds.

Remove from heat and whisk in the chocolate until completely melted. Stir in the vanilla extract, followed by the remaining ¾ cup of water. Transfer mixture to a blender and blend for 15 seconds. Allow the mixture to cool completely, or chill in the fridge for 30 minutes. Freeze the mixture in the ice-cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Leave a comment