Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

IMG_3387 copy
Double chocolate chip muffins – enough said. Honestly, does one need a reason for muffins overloaded with chocolate?

IMG_3364 copy

I, however, have a waistline to be worried about. So I did some mental (calorie) calculation in my head and it decided these muffins aren’t going to put my newly purchased jeans in jeopardy. I am struggling getting into the jeans as it is. Perhaps having a few muffins with the jeans on will stretch it a little bit? Interesting thought – noted.

IMG_3375 copy

IMG_3379 copy

There’s unsweetened cocoa powder and flax meal – this is almost healthy! What are a few chocolate chips sneakily hidden in the muffin going to do? I mean, I have choc chip in my granola.

So… with all that going in my head, I suddenly found myself with a dozen of muffins. A dozen of very moist muffins, I must say. It is not very sweet and goes amazingly well with my morning coffee.

IMG_3391 copy

IMG_3390 copy

I can get used to this. I believe you wouldn’t mind this either.

IMG_3389 copy

*****

Double Chocolate Muffins
Recipe from Pastry Affair

Yields 1 dozen muffins

1 cup (125 grams) all-purpose flour
1/2 cup (43 grams) cocoa powder
1/2 cup (53 grams) flax meal
1/2 cup (100 grams) brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup (60 ml) vegetable oil
1 cup (235 ml) milk
1/2 cup (85 grams) chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180°C. Line 12-hole muffin pan with baking cups or lightly grease with oil/baking spray.

In a mixer bowl, add together flour, cocoa powder, flax meal, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Whisk until combined. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture. Add egg, vanilla, vegetable oil and milk into the well. Whisk the batter until incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Divide batter evenly between baking cups, about 3/4 full. Sprinkle the tops with a pinch of granulated sugar and more chocolate chips if preferred. Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, or until blade inserted into the center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

