Snaxy (Protein) Bars

IMG_3565 copy

I’ve always been keen to make my own protein bars. See, I snack a lot and I also bake a lot. Even though I usually allow myself to consume whatever I crave, I have a feeling if I have an entire cake in a day, no amount of exercise in this world will keep me fit. So I mix it up a little – occasionally I have fruits, then I have assorted nuts, then hard boiled eggs. I don’t buy muesli bars from shelves because despite the 99% fat free labels, it is the amount of sugar in every bar that is bad for us.

I decided to get creative and put together my favourite ingredients, blend them together (keeping my fingers crossed that they will stick!) in a food processor and voila! Snaxy bar!

IMG_3527 copy

Yep – that is what I am calling it.

Snaxy bar – no sugar or oil. Made completely out of nuts and fruits and a little extract for flavor.

IMG_3528 copy

Are you keen to try it out?

It is really addictive – I’ve made 20 bars in the last 7 days. I just cannot get enough!

******

Snaxy (Protein) Bar
Makes 10 bars

Ingredients

1 cups traditional oats
1 ½ cups cashew
1 cup toasted almonds
½ cup walnuts
12 medjool dates
½ cup desiccated coconut
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon coconut extract

Method

Line a 9×9 baking tray. Set aside.

Remove seeds from the dates and place in a bowl and cover with water. Soak for 15 minutes, then drain.

In a food processor, process the nuts and oats until it resembles coarse crumbs. Add dates, coconut and extracts. Blend until well combined.

Transfer mixture into prepared tray. Gently press down the mixture evenly onto tray. Cover surface with cling wrap. Chill for about an hour.

Lift baking paper from tray carefully and place on a chopping board. Slice into 10 equal-sized bars.

Leave a Reply

