Chewy Crunchy Granola

IMG_3139 copy

As of late, since I discovered Mocha Granola, I have left my box of Weet-bix sitting at the corner of my work cabinet. Poor faithful Weet-bix, we go way back. This new obsession of mine to make homemade granola has resulted in me surfing on Google for hours searching for new and different sort of granola to make. Most of the recipes involve the same things – honey, maple syrup, rolled oats, oil and sliced almond.

So you should the excitement on my face when I came across ‘The Best Granola Recipe’ on David Lebovitz’s website. This man is almost a genius in the kitchen. So if he thinks it is the best recipe, I am not about to disagree.

This recipe makes a massive amount of granola – enough to last you 2 weeks. The good thing is it can be kept for up to one month if stored in airtight container.

IMG_3127 copy

This granola is all about texture. Chewy, crunchy, chewy and CHEWY! There is so much going on in there! As the recipe calls for coarsely chopped almond, there is a lot more chewing required and then there are the seeds. You know what they say about chewing elevating metabolic rate! You’re burning the granola as you’re eating it. Honestly, what more can you ask for?

There is, however, one thing I am not quite satisfied with (safe to say I am not ready to award this recipe The Best Granola just yet) – I can’t quite decide my feelings on the applesauce. Maybe it is the brand of applesauce I used. Not sure but I just don’t think I like it very much. Perhaps I should try another fruit puree. Perhaps the game will be back on if I can find myself a tub of COCONUT PUREE?!!? Say what… Okay, honestly, anyone know where I can get myself a tub of coconut puree in Sydney?

IMG_3130

All in all, still a winning recipe. It is very healthy and if you like texture, you will love it. However, until I can get my hands on some coconut puree, I shall be sticking to my Mocha Granola and Coconut Sultana Granola for now.

Even after all my rant about applesauce and not liking it, I’ve already finished half of the batch I made over the weekend!

IMG_3137 copy

*Note: I would appreciate if you can provide me with some feedback on this granola if you try the recipe out as my view on it may be bias due to my lack of appreciation for applesauce.

*****

Granola

Makes about 2 pounds (1kg)

Recipe from David Lebovitz

  • 5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 3 cups (375g) almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup (125g) sunflower seeds
  • 3/4 cup (100g) untoasted sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon dried ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/4 cup (180g) unsweetened applesauce (or another unsweetened fruit puree)
  • 1/3 cup (100g) maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup (80g) honey
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Method:

Preheat the oven to 150°C.

In a very large bowl, stir together oats, almonds, sunflower and sesame seeds, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger and salt.

In a saucepan, warm the fruit puree with the maple syrup, honey and oil.

Add the fruit mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until thoroughly distributed. Divide the mixture and spread evenly on two baking pans/sheets. Bake the granola for about 45 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes until the granola is deep golden brown.

Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before storing granola in large airtight container. It will keep for up to one month.

Leave a Reply

