Coconut Dream Cookies

IMG_2948 copy
I had no idea I am coconut obsessed. I mean, I know I like coconut but there’s a difference between liking something and being completely obsessed. I mean, I think Ryan Gosling is a very attractive man (you too, Mr. Clooney) but if I permanently park myself outside his mansion, peering through the gaps of his gates, hoping to get a glimpse of him – that’s not cool. That’s creepy.

IMG_2928 copy

My obsession with coconut is similar. All I’ve been thinking about is what else I can make using coconut. I’ve sneakily added shredded coconut in the Mocha Granola. Then I did a mini squeal of joy when I made Coconut Sultana Granola. You should see my face when I was whipping the coconut cream. I swear, there was a glint in my eyes. Creepy…

IMG_2932 copy

IMG_2936 copy

So I thought I’ll go all out, with a bloody loud bang, with my last cup and a half worth of shredded coconut and call it quits. It has been a good run but it is time to move on – until probably next week, when I restock my pantry with more coconut stuff. Then the cycle starts all over again.

A loud bang it was – Coconut Dream Cookies.

IMG_2940 copy

Triple dose of coconut in every single cookie – coconut oil, shredded coconut and coconut glaze. Hello…. Coconut Heaven.

IMG_2944 copy

IMG_2959 copy

It begins with the union between coconut oil and sugar. There is something very ceremonious about it. In goes the egg, the vanilla, the flour and its other powdery friends before we unite the shredded coconut with the rest.

You think it’ll end there but it doesn’t. I did promise a big bang. So we make it ‘big’ by covering the top of each cookie with coconut glaze and then we create the ultimate ‘bang’ by topping the glaze with toasted coconut. How dramatic am I?!

IMG_2951 copy

With the glaze dripping off the edges of the cookies and the toasted coconut sitting at the top, I thought it looks a little bit like a dream. Hence, the name I gave the dozen of cookies sitting on my cooling rack.

Care to share a little of my coconut obsession? It’ll be a little chewy, coconut-y and dream-like.

IMG_2958 copy

****

Triple Coconut Cookies
Recipe from Pastry Affair
Yields about 12 cookies

Coconut Cookies
1/4 cup coconut oil, in a solid state
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup  all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sweetened coconut flakes, lightly packed

Preheat oven to 180°C.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together the coconut oil and sugar until combined. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Gradually add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix until smooth. Fold in the coconut flakes.

Add dollops of mixture onto a lined baking sheet, leaving an inch or two between cookies, and bake for 8 to 12 minutes, or until the edges of the cookies are lightly browned.

Allow cookies to rest on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Coconut Glaze
1 cup icing sugar
2 tablespoons coconut milk
Toasted coconut flakes, for garnish

In a small bowl, whisk together icing sugar and coconut milk until smooth. If the glaze is too thick, add a little coconut milk, teaspoon by teaspoon. Similarly, if the glaze is too thin, add more icing sugar by the tablespoon until it thickens.

Drizzle glaze on top of cooled cookies and sprinkle on toasted coconut.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Dream Cookies

    • Winter is looming over at my side of the world. I am in denial and coconut helps me deal with it!

      On a random note, I had the most amazing dessert tonight at a fancy Thai restaurant – Black Sticky Rice served with Young Coconut Ice-Cream. I need a lifetime supply of Young Coconut Ice-cream!

Leave a Reply

