Mocha Granola

IMG_2862 copy
Granola – You and I knew it was coming. It was only a matter of time.

When I saw ‘Mocha Granola’, I knew the time has come.

Chocolate + Coffee = Mocha. This is a winning combination. I cannot say no.

IMG_2870 copy

The coffee speaks to me, “Make me. Make me. MAKE ME!” Very often it ends with a shout. But the chocolate, the sneaky buggers, sings to me. Honestly, when someone, or in this case some thing sings to you, you melt and you give in. Unless it is a crazy man on the street then I recommend you run for your life.

IMG_2867 copy

So that was how I ended up making granola at 8:50pm. Honestly. It just somehow doesn’t seem right to be making granola when there is no sunlight left to light up the room.

But it was perfect, the dim room was just right to bring together coffee and chocolate. There was something really right about it. Then a stroke of genius hits me – coconut. We need coconut. There is something about coconut that makes everything taste even better. Come on now, we have to get all these ingredients dancing together.

IMG_2856 copy

The next time, I’ll even substitute the olive oil for coconut oil. Now we’re talking.

(If I sound like I’m high on caffeine, it is probably because I am. I just had a huge ½ cup full of this awesome granola with Greek yogurt! Tomorrow I’m having it with protein shake!)

IMG_2859 copy

Your first spoonful will explosive – there is the crunch, the chewy and the flavour. Together they will win your heart over.

You’re welcome.

There will be more granola recipe coming your way.

IMG_2854 copy

****

Mocha Granola

Recipe adapted from Pastry Affair

Yields four 1/2-cup servings

2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
1 tablespoon espresso powder
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
1/2 cup whole almonds, roughly chopped
1/2 cup flaked coconut
1 tablespoon flax seed (optional)
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 160°C.

In a bowl, whisk together brown sugar, espresso powder, olive oil, vanilla and salt until combined. Fold in the oats, almonds, coconut and flaxseed until all appears to be coated. Spread granola evenly onto a lined baking tray.

Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, giving the granola a quick stir every 10 minutes. It is done when the granola appears slightly browned and fragrant. Let the granola cool to room temperate before stirring in the chocolate chips.

Serve either with milk or yogurt.

5 thoughts on “Mocha Granola

    • I hear you! It is such a winner and it has turned me slightly granola-obsessed.

      In fact, I’ve already got another granola recipe which I cannot wait to whip up real soon!

Leave a Reply

