Happy Mother’s Day : Red Velvet Swirl Brownies

IMG_1026 copy
I had a love-hate relationship with Mom when I was younger. It was as if you cannot leave us in the same room for more than 3 hours together if you want the house to stay upright and intact. We bicker – a lot. My rebellious teenage attitude could have something to do with it. I was still a good kid, I promise. Hah, then there is Mom who is strict and doesn’t take any crap. Game over.

IMG_1020 copy

It wasn’t until I moved out of home did we start to have a better relationship. I started missing having her around. I guess as we grow, we tend to appreciate people around us more. I started appreciating my parents, and everything they’ve given to me or have given up for me.

I’m sorry, again, that I cannot be home to celebrate your day with you, Mom. But I love you, with all my heart and I hope you have a very wonderful day.

IMG_1030 copy

If you’re here, I would’ve made you an amazing breakfast in bed – cinnamon roll and coffee, baked you a batch of Red Velvet Swirl Brownies which I know you will love because there is cream cheese involved, take you out for a walk and if the weather is perfect, maybe we can even sit on green grass covered with dried autumn leaves and enjoy a little picnic.

I miss you and I do wish you are here with me today.  But because you’re not, I’ll be giving you a call in the next 30 minutes.

IMG_1025 copy

To all the Moms out there, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

****

Red Velvet Swirl Brownies

Recipe adapted from Food Network

Ingredients

15g unsalted butter, for pan

Red Velvet Brownie Layer:
113g unsalted butter, melted
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup cocoa powder
Pinch salt
1 tablespoon red food coloring
1 teaspoon vinegar
2 eggs, whisked
3/4 cup all-purpose flour

Cream Cheese Layer:
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 175°C.

Foil the sides of an 8 by 8-inch baking pan before lining it with parchment paper at the bottom. Butter the prepared pan and set aside.

Brownie layer: In a mixer bowl, add melted butter. Whisk in sugar, vanilla, cocoa powder, salt, food colouring and vinegar, in that order, until combined. Add whisked eggs into the mixture. Fold in the flour until just combined. Pour the batter into the prepared baking pan, saving 1/4 cup of the batter for the top.

Cream cheese layer: In a clean mixer bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla until combined. Dollop the cream cheese on top of the brownie batter and finish it by adding the remaining brownie batter over the top. Using a skewer or the tip of a knife, drag the tip through the cream cheese mixture to create a swirl pattern. It is important not to over-swirl. Bake brownies for 30 minutes. Remove to a cooling rack and allow to cool completely before cutting.

Leave a Reply

