Chocolate Coconut Almond Scones

IMG_2647 copy
Do you remember the Slice & Bake Sultana Oatmeal Cookies?

They are still my most favourite thing. In fact, they have been the only thing keeping me sane while I talk superannuation, insurance and estate planning to myself and my laptop and anyone else who would listen. No one.

In fact, while everyone was happily sleeping on Anzac morning, I was still up at 4:30am working on this never ending assignment – alone and in complete darkness. Thank God for the cookies – they are great company. In fact, while typing away furiously on my laptop, I remember wondering what it would be like to add some coconut to these cookies. I bet it’ll be amazing. Unfortunately, my understanding of tax effective investments isn’t amazing at wee hours of the morning.

IMG_2630 copyIMG_2636 copy

So when I finally went to bed at almost 5 in the morning, I did not expect to be awake in 2.5 hours. I thought for the hard work I’ve already done for the day and it’s not even 5am, I deserve a sleep in! Nope. It did not happen.

At half past 7, I was awake in bed thinking of what to have for breakfast. It was probably the thought of breakfast that woke me up completely. Dang it. What would I do without food?

IMG_2641 copy

When I did a pantry ‘stock take’ the other day, I realized I have plenty of chocolate chips hiding about. I also have plenty of almonds – ground, slivered, flaked, blanch… you name it; I bet I’ll probably have it. A big bag of flaked coconut that never seems to finish, not that I’m complaining. It was then I decided it’s a beautiful morning for scones.

IMG_2642 copyIMG_2643 copyIMG_2645 copyIMG_2646 copy

So I excitedly hopped out of bed because breakfast truly gets me excited. Mr. Snax will never get it. He thinks I’m weird. See, he likes to believe he doesn’t have a care for food. But he’s a closet foodie and I’ll have him exposed soon enough.

First thing I did when I got to the kitchen? I switched the oven on. It is time to toast some almond and coconut. Have you ever take in the smell of toasted coconut? Like REALLY take it in, both lungs full? If someone makes a toasted coconut perfume, I’ll wear it. Really.

IMG_2651 copyIMG_2661 copy

So, while the almond and coconut are being toasted to perfection, I bring out my best friend in the kitchen – the food processor, and throw everything else in there. After what feels like eternity of me standing in the kitchen inhaling the fresh toasted coconut and almond, I throw them in with others. Let’s all be friends. Add the chopped up butter to make things a little merrier. Then we add the buttermilk, to bring them all together.

IMG_2658 copy

Honestly, nothing can possibly go wrong with this scone. It is made out of all my favourite things.

IMG_2668 copyIMG_2671 copy

Unless being amazingly soft and buttery is wrong, then I think I’ve found the perfect breakfast. If you think soft and buttery scone is wrong then… wow, you’ve lost your way. I don’t what happened but something happened.

Scone for breakfast, anyone? Best breakfast of your life. I promise. You wouldn’t even need jam or cream. But coffee is not optional.

IMG_2662 copy

****

Chocolate Coconut Almond Scones

Recipe from Joy The Baker

makes about 10 to 12 scones

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons raw or granulated sugar

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

171g unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes

1 large egg

3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

1/3 cup flaked coconut

1/3 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup chocolate chips

buttermilk for topping before baking

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat oven to 175°C.

Place shredded coconut and slivered almonds on a lined baking sheet and toast in the oven for about 8 to 10 minutes.  Keep your eye on the coconut.  It browns quickly.  Remove from the oven when toasted and allow to cool.

Increase oven temperature to 205°C.  Line two baking sheets with baking paper and set aside.

Using a food processor, add together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt and process in 5 seconds pulse to allow dry mixture to combine. Add the cold butter cubes into the flour mixture. Process until butter is worked into the flour mixture. Place in the fridge for a few minutes.

In a bowl, whisk together buttermilk and egg.

Remove the flour and butter mixture from the fridge and fold in the coconut, almonds and chocolate chips. Create a well in the center of the mixture; add the buttermilk mixture all at once to the well. Use a fork to bring the wet and the dry ingredients together. Mixture will be shaggy.

On a lightly floured surface, turn out the shaggy dough mixture and gently bring together with your hands into a 1 ½-inch thick disk. Using a 2 ½-inch round cutter, cut out scones and place on the prepared baking sheets, 1-inch apart. Brush each scone with a bit of buttermilk. Bake scones for 14-18 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through.

Remove from oven and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

