Muffins Made Of Banana, Choc-Chip and Espresso

IMG_2462 copy

I have a few random confessions to make.

Firstly, I really like bananas. Can you tell? I always find bananas around the house. It is like they just appear. It is almost like having an invisible banana tree – which is quite awesome.

IMG_2449 copy
Secondly, remember how I declared this week as ‘Skinny Week’ not too long ago? It is the week I am determined to cook and bake only healthy things – lesser butter/oil (if any at all), lesser sugar (or none at all), etc… you get the picture.

Pfffbt… Well, it did not last longer than 24 hours. Shame. Am I surprised? No. Not really. In fact, not at all.

I blame the bananas.

IMG_2459 copy

They were over-ripe, ready (and almost begging) to be baked into something wonderfully delicious and I had just the perfect recipe in mind. In fact, it had been on my mind for weeks. This tragedy was bound to happen.

So, what do I do? I mean, there are chocolate chips involved here. There is no way I can win this battle. Did I mention there’s some sneaky espresso powder in this almost certain to be amazing concoction?

IMG_2458 copy

Being deprived of caffeine for the last 3 days (don’t ask…), seeing the word ‘espresso’ was almost too much to handle – GAME OVER.

IMG_2463 copy

However, because I cannot completely shrug away the guilt, I did my best to ‘healthi-fy’ the recipe. I replaced 1/3 of the plain flour called for with whole wheat flour and substituted 1 cup of granulated sugar for 3/4 cup of brown sugar. But for the next time, I will reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup as the choc-chip also contributed to the sweetness factor in this muffin.

IMG_2460 copy

At 256 calories per muffin, am I forgiven? If not, here… have a muffin.

Trust me, the muffin is so good, you’ll have no choice but to forgive me.

IMG_2467 copy

****

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins
Adapted from Pastry Affair

Yields 12 muffins

4 medium over-ripe bananas (1 1/2 cups), mashed
3/4 cup brown sugar
8 tablespoons (113g) butter, melted
1/4 cup milk
1 egg, whisked
1 plain flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon espresso powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a 12-cup muffin pan or line with muffin cases – I made my own.

In a mixing bowl, add together mashed bananas, sugar and butter. Mix until combined. Add milk and whisked egg. Gradually add the flour, espresso powder, baking soda and salt. Mix ingredients together until smooth and well combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Fill each muffin hole/case with batter – 3/4 of the way full. Top batter with a thin slice of banana if you like.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until toothpick/thin blade inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow muffins to cool for 15 minutes in the pan before transferring to cool completely on cooling rack.

In a mixer, combine mashed bananas, sugar, and butter. Mix until well blended. Add milk and egg. Slowly add the flour, espresso powder, baking soda and salt and mix until smooth. Add in the chocolate chips.

Serve warm or at room temperature. Store in an air-tight container for up to 2 days.

Leave a Reply

