Skinny Week: Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies

IMG_2433 copy
I’m declaring this week as ‘Skinny Week’.

Yes, it is that point in time when my favourite jeans isn’t sitting as comfortably as it was a month ago. The skirt that used to hang loosely around my hips is now sitting a little higher.

IMG_2411

I believe this means it is time for an intervention.

However, there is no way I am cutting sweets out of my diet. That is just suicidal and I am not crazy. Yet.

IMG_2414 copy

IMG_2421 copy

So what do I do? I surf the Internet – because I am addicted and just because I can. I get lost on the internet sometimes. Lost in clothes, shoes… recipes. What would I do without the internet? Don’t even.

Bingo. I have done it again. I found it.

IMG_2424 copy

It’s a brownie recipe. But (trust me, this is a big BUT), there is no butter or oil. In fact, we don’t even use flour. Instead, the recipe calls for Greek yogurt, rolled oats and unsweetened cocoa powder.

At that moment, I felt like at any second, someone or something is going to pop up on my screen with a loud siren screaming, “You’ve been punked!”

IMG_2425 copy

IMG_2429 copy

But since that didn’t happen, I gave the recipe ago. I decided to substitute the sugar in the recipe for brown sugar and honey – just to go skinny all the way.

The result? One word: fudgy. I had two in the span of 10 minutes. I wasn’t even done taking photos for the blog!

IMG_2437 copy

Apparently I have decided this will be breakfast tomorrow.

This is trouble.

IMG_2445 copy

In case you care, I’ve done the calculation – 197 calories each. You’re welcome.

IMG_2441 copy

****

Skinny Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies

Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

makes 11 to 12 brownies

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 170g greek yogurt (low-fat or fat free)
  • 1/4 cup skim milk (or almond milk)
  • 1 large egg (or 2 egg whites)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

Method

Preheat oven to 175°C. Line 12-hole muffin pan with cupcake liners. Set aside.

Place all of the ingredients except for the peanut butter into a food processor or a blender. Blend the ingredients together until smooth and oats are finely grounded.

Pour batter into prepared muffin pan – filling about 3/4 of the way. The batter will be runny.

In a bowl, microwave peanut butter for about 30 seconds until melted – add a dollop onto the batter. Using a knife, gently swirl the peanut butter into the batter to create a marbled effect.

Bake for 15 minutes or center appears set.

Served without guilt.

Leave a Reply

