S’mores Pie

IMG_2401 copy

Autumn is here and all we’ve been getting in Sydney is rain and more rain. My flats are constantly soaked wet, so are my runners. It is disgusting. Imagine putting your feet into wet shoes – exactly. It’s pretty gross.

Rainy days makes me crave for a big mug of hot chocolate with lots of white fluffy marshmallows and a ‘doona’ (duvet). A movie marathon will be great too – only cheesy ones. Pretty Woman and Bridget Jones’s Diary will stir up quite an excitement!

By the way, did you know I only eat white marshmallows?

IMG_2394

I cannot for the life of me understand why I am unable to find a pack of plain white marshmallows here. There’s always the pink raspberry-flavoured ones in there. I don’t care if it is pretty I just want plain white marshmallows. Surely that is not too much to ask?

So here, let me describe to you what happens exactly whenever I buy a pack of marshmallows – there’ll be me on the floor, a bowl between my legs, me looking into the bag (insert serious Snax face here) picking out pink marshmallows and tossing them into the bowl.

If you like some pink marshmallows, they are in the bowl on the dining table. Help yourself. No, really… please.

IMG_2386 copy

Anyways, I encountered a crisis when I decided to recreate the S’mores Pie I’ve been admiring over at Pastry Affair. Perfect rainy day dessert if you ask me, especially when watching Bridget Jones!

I did my usual separating-pink-marshmallows-from-the-white…, went on with topping the pie with halved marshmallows then nothing… no more marshmallows. No…way…

How did I run out of white marshmallows? Oh probably because they decide to make space for the pink ones!

Oh, pink ones… there they are – in the bowl, looking all innocent “it-wasn’t-me”!

IMG_2389 copy

Honestly, am I really going to do this? Use pink marshmallows on my beautiful S’mores pie – pink marshmallows that I would not normally put in my mouth? It was either that or I have to make a dash to Coles to buy another pack. How desperate am I?

I bite the bullet and did it. I used pink marshmallows. Toughest 120 seconds of my life.

IMG_2397 copy

But it turned out alright. Better than alright – it was beautiful.

Fans of s’mores, this recipe is to die for. Apparently, it’s “OMFG THIS IS AWESOME”. I promise, even the non-s’mores fan will find a soft spot for this beautiful pie.

IMG_2399 copy

However, the next time I make s’mores, I’ll be making my own marshmallows and they will all be WHITE. Crisis averted.

IMG_2410 copy

IMG_2409 copy

****

S’mores Pie

Adapted from Pastry Affair

Yields 6-8 servings

Crust
2 cups, about 24 biscuits, Arnott’s Granita (or Graham Crackers)
113g butter, melted

Preheat oven to 160°C.

In a food processor, add biscuits and process until finely crumbled. Add the melted butter – pulse until crumbs are evenly coated. Press the mixture into a 9-inch pie plate (10-inch is fine as well). Allow crust to bake for 8 to 10 minutes, or until fragrant.

Chocolate Filling
3/4 cup heavy cream
3/4 cup milk
285g semisweet chocolate, chopped
Pinch of salt
2 eggs, whisked
1 bag of large marshmallows

Place a bowl on top of a pan of simmering water, whisk together cream and milk. Add in chocolate and stir until chocolate has melted and is smooth. Gradually add whisked egg and mix until combined.

Pour chocolate filling into baked crust. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until chocolate filling is set and does not move when pie is lightly shaken.

While the pie is in the oven, cut marshmallows in half. Set aside.

Once the pie is ready, remove from oven. Arrange the halved marshmallows in concentric circles over the top of the pie until covered.

Set oven to broil (top heating element). Place pie under the broiler and lightly toast the marshmallows until golden (approximately 2 to 5 minutes) – watch marshmallows closely as it can burn very quickly.

Allow pie to chill in refrigerator for 2 to 3 hours.

To serve, cut the cold pie into slices (warm pie will cause a gooey mess!). The pie can be served cold or lightly warmed.

2 thoughts on “S’mores Pie

  1. I hear you! My ballet flats are flooded out completely. Thankfully Sydney is behaving itself today and we can dry out a little. This looks amazing! Those marshmallows are arranged so perfectly. Bridget Jones + Pretty Woman = Top two movies of all time. All time. Ever.

    • Thank you! – This pie is pretty much my OCD-ness on full display.

      I’m glad someone out there knows how I feel about this weather! I must say, it did give me a sneaky reason to buy a new pair of flats – I did not hesitate!

Leave a Reply

