Chocolate Oatmeal Flaxseed Muffin for Detox

IMG_2378 copy

Flaxseed – I have no idea what it is. Apparently it is good for you. Perfect. I need something that is good for me.

April is a write-off month for me. I’ve been consuming everything under the sky – chocolate eggs, cookies, cakes, doughnuts. I’m mortified and feeling absolutely guilty.

But clearly not guilty enough to stop. Something needs to be done here.

IMG_2360

So I brought out the big guns – brown sugar, whole wheat flour, rolled oats and… the new pack of flax seed I just bought from the store. We’ll substitute butter for olive oil.

IMG_2361

There – sounds healthy enough.

Maybe we can spare some chocolate chip… Yeah, I’m not even going to pretend like I have to think about that one. In it goes.

IMG_2362 copy

IMG_2364 copy

So, when you put all the ingredients together with a little bit of baking powder, a pinch of baking soda… we’ve made ourselves some muffins.

Chocolate Oatmeal Flaxseed Muffins to be exact.

IMG_2373 copy

IMG_2374 copy

Just to make sure I’m getting my point through that we are here for something healthy, I top the batter in the muffin pan with rolled oats – there, loud and clear and in your face.

It’s different. It’s healthy, in a good way – the sweetness of the muffin comes from the chocolate chip. But most importantly, it’s moist. I quite enjoy it served warm with a pat of peanut butter (you may try with butter) but the muffin taste delicious as well just on its own at room temperature.

IMG_2379 copy

…and because I’m geeky, I’ve worked out that there are 187 calories in each muffin.

****

Chocolate Oatmeal Flaxseed Muffins

Recipe from Pastry Affair

Yields 1 dozen muffins

1 cup (120 grams) whole wheat flour
1/2 cup (53 grams) flaxseed/flax meal (or you can substitute all-purpose flour, if desired)
1/2 cup (40 grams) old fashioned or rolled oats
1/3 cup (66 grams) brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon espresso powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1/4 cup (60 ml) vegetable oil
1 cup (235 ml) milk
1/2 cup (85 grams) chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a muffin tin or line with baking cups.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, flaxseed, oats, brown sugar, espresso powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Make a well in the center of the mixture.

In the well, add egg, vegetable oil and milk. Whisk together until batter is evenly incorporated. Mix in the chocolate chips.

Divide batter evenly between baking cups – about ¾ full.

Sprinkle a few oats on top. Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, or until toothpick or a thin blade inserted in the center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

