It Is Biscuit Time

IMG_2350 copy

I might be obsessed with baked doughnuts but I am infatuated with biscuits/scones.

In the last 4 months, I’ve made…

Feta & Chives Sour Cream Scones

Caramelized Mushroom and Onion Biscuits

Maple Bacon Biscuits

Buttermilk Biscuits

…and last night I attempted Cheddar Dill Biscuits.

IMG_2330i copy

That is quite a bit of biscuit/scone for a Chinese girl like me – I didn’t even know what they were until I moved to Australia. Although, as Mr Snax always says, I’m like a Caucasian stuck in an Asian body.

I remember making scones for the first time a few years ago and the very wet dough which resulted in a sticky mess turned me off completely. But spending the last year browsing through my favourite food blogs and looking at those beautiful, almost perfect, round biscuits has got me really excited again.

IMG_2334i copy

IMG_2348 copy

This time around, after memorizing the guide to perfect mile-high biscuits, I was ready – the butter must be very cold, straight from the refrigerator; liquid must be cold; do not over-mix/over-knead; do not twist cutter once pressed into dough.

As promised, I got beautiful and almost perfectly round mile-high biscuits. The texture? Light and flaky. Devouring these biscuits was truly an experience.

IMG_2352 copy

So here you go another biscuit recipe to share with you. Serve plain or with butter or with bacon (because bacon makes everything better – it’s almost like chocolate’s savoury twin).

You can thank me later.

IMG_2354 copy

****

Cheddar Dill Biscuits

Recipe adapted from Pastry Affair

Yields 10-12 biscuits

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) cold butter
1 tablespoon fresh dill, minced (original recipe calls for 2 tablespoons)
1 cup (4 ounces) cheddar cheese, grated
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup milk

Preheat oven to 220°C.

Add flour, baking powder and salt into food processor. If not using, add dry ingredients to a large bowl – whisk until combine. Cut butter into flour mixture until it resembles a coarse sand. Mix in the fresh dill and cheddar cheese. Gradually add in the heavy cream and milk – mix until combined. Remember to not over-mix.

Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead the dough lightly until it just comes together into a ball. Do not knead more than 10 to 12 times. Flatten the dough ball to roughly 1-inch thick. Using a 2-inch cookie cutter, cut out biscuits until all dough is used.

Place biscuits on a baking sheet and bake for 15 to 18 minutes, or until tops of biscuits are lightly browned.

Leave a comment