Slice & Bake Oatmeal Sultana Cookies

IMG_2357 copy

If you’re me, you will constantly find yourself in an inner battle.

Oh, I want an ice-cream maker. Wait! That waffle maker is so cute!

IMG_2288 copy

Then, I’m reminded of the beautiful white dress I saw by the window at some store the day before – I want that too. Or that pair of flats from Nine West that I totally need.

Shit.”

IMG_2296 copy

IMG_2299 copy

I just want everything.  Sometimes, I wish I am one of those girls who love clothes but cannot stand the kitchen – vice versa. But no, I have to be ‘special’ and want it all – from the accessories down to the shoes to the kitchen appliances as well as utensils. I’m out of control. Well, at least I’m not that into collecting makeup. That will be the end of me.

IMG_2314 copy

IMG_2304 copy

Now that I’m done talking about me, let me introduce you to something really worth talking about.

Slice and Bake Oatmeal Sultana Cookies.

IMG_2317 copy

It’s fragrant, chewy and addictive. It is also convenient and not as lethal as your other average cookies– a batch makes up to about 4 dozen cookies but the magical thing about it is… you can freeze them up to 3 weeks. There is no need to feel like you need to finish all 48 cookies in one sitting. Although there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. I find it quite euphoric.

IMG_2306 copy

Imagine this – It has been a long day, you open your freezer and there are frozen cookie dough logs. You slice the log into many ½ inch cookies and pop them into the oven. Twenty minutes later, your sanity will be restored.

Amazing.

IMG_2323 copy

I don’t normally like sultanas or dried fruit of any other kind in my cookies but one bite later, I was a convert.

For the next lot of slice and bake cookies I make, I’m going to live dangerously and substitute the sultanas for chocolate chip.

Warning: These cookies are highly addictive.

IMG_2356 copy

*****

Slice & Bake Oatmeal Sultana Cookies

makes 4 dozen

recipe adapted from Shutterbean

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (or 3/4 cup whole wheat flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 226g butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar (original recipe calls for 1/2 cup)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups traditional oats
  • 2 cups sultanas

In a medium bowl, add together both flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. Whisk to combine.

Beat butter and both sugar on high speed until light and creamy – approximately 2 to 3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, scraping down bowl between additions. Add in vanilla.

Switching speed to low, add the dry ingredients. Once it’s combined, fold in the oats and sultanas.

Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes – Makes shaping easier.

Divide dough between to large sheets of baking paper. Roll up each piece of dough into a 1 ½-inch diameter log. Wrap in cling wrap; freeze for at least 4 hours and up to 3 weeks.

Preheat oven to 175°C.

Unwrap dough and cut into 1/2-inch thick rounds (return unused dough to freezer). Arrange 2-inch apart on lined baking sheet.

Bake cookies for 15 to 18 minutes until the edges are golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack. Let cool, but be warned, it will be hard.

One thought on “Slice & Bake Oatmeal Sultana Cookies

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

