Doughnut Obsessions : Strawberry Doughnuts

IMG_2186 copy

For the past week while my head was spiraling around the many Hot Cross buns recipes, I was craving for strawberries. But I don’t want the fruit itself. I want it in muffins, bread, doughnuts… or something. So after buying a pack of strawberries, I see no choice but to make something out of them.

I have buttermilk – I’ve made this a staple in my kitchen. I believe you should too. When I think of buttermilk, I think of moist heavenly baking goods… ie. baked doughnuts. Should I make strawberry doughnuts? Well, I do like baked doughnuts…

So guess who made a comeback?

IMG_2159 copy

IMG_2161 copy

In between hot cross buns recipes, Superannuation notes and baked doughnut recipes, I somehow managed to find a perfect strawberry glaze recipe. Yes, I want a strawberry everything – not glaze that is pink in colour. That’s just not real or cool.

IMG_2164 copy

The glaze calls for Freeze Dried Strawberries. I don’t know about you but I’ve never heard of it in my life. So the geeky side of me did a research online and found some health stores in Sydney that sells them. Called the store nearest to work and they had one pack left. SCORE! Mine!

IMG_2167 copy

IMG_2168 copy

So this is what I got up to on Good Friday… cutting a whole lot of strawberries, fresh and freeze dried, though the latter I had fun smashing into powder. Add a little flour, baking powder, buttermilk, oil and eggs and you’re almost there.

IMG_2171 copy

IMG_2175 copy

IMG_2173 copy

The doughnuts have only been out for about an hour and there are only 2 left. If you would like one, you better hurry up. Or else, I do have 4 ripe bananas sitting around – which I might turn into more doughnuts tomorrow. That is if you can wait till then….

IMG_2181 copy

On another note, if these random but constant cravings of mine don’t stop soon, I’ll need more than 8 gym sessions a week to save my life.

 IMG_2182 copy

Baked Strawberry Doughnuts

Recipe adapted from Cooking Classy

Makes 6 doughnuts

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ¼ cup castor sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup + 2 tablespoon buttermilk
  • 3 tablespoon of vegetable oil
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped strawberry
  • Butter – melted, for coating

Strawberry Glaze:

  • 1 ½ powdered sugar
  • ¼ cup finely chopped strawberries
  • ¼ cup freeze dried strawberries, crushed to powder

Directions

Doughnuts:

Pre-heat oven to 190°C.

Coat doughnut pan with butter and flour – be sure to shake to remove excess flour.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. Prepare a well in the center of mixture. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, vegetable oil, vanilla and eggs. Once combined, add to the well prepared in the dry mixture.

Using a wooden spoon or a spatula, stir mixture until just combined. Fold in 2/3 of the finely chopped strawberries.

Pipe the batter into the prepared pan – about 2/3 of each hole. Bake for 12 minutes or until toothpick/thin blade inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow doughnuts to cool in pan for a few minutes before inverting onto a wire cooling rack. Leave to cool completely.

Strawberry Glaze:

In a bowl, combine ¼ cups finely chopped strawberries and half of the powdered sugar. Stir until mixture is well combined and moistened. Allow to rest for 1 minute. Add in remaining powdered sugar and freeze dried strawberry powder – stir until well combined. The consistency of the glaze should be thick and dip-able, if not, let the glaze rest for another minute or two.

Dip doughnuts (smooth side) into glaze; allow excess to drip off and let rest on the wire rack glazed side up. Once all the doughnuts are glazed transfer rack to freezer for 5 minutes to allow the glaze to set.

Note: Glaze needs to be used immediately. So prepare when doughnuts are cooling on the wire rack or when ready to be glazed.

Leave a Reply

