A Little Bit of Summer in Autumn: Coconut Bread

IMG_1993 copy

The first ever baking I did was when I was 13 – at school. It was mini coconut cupcakes.

I had no idea then I would ever want to bake again after the class was over. But I did realize I like coconut in my baking goods very much. So I made mum bake another batch of cupcakes for me. Being the miss-know-it-all that I was (I don’t miss those teenage years!) I told Mum I’ll show her how to make it.

Being a know-it-all wouldn’t be all that bad if I wasn’t actually so clueless. But I was. So as you would’ve probably guessed – catastrophe is on its way. The cupcakes sunk. Not only were they the saddest looking cupcakes ever, they were so rock hard they could have killed someone if knocked in the head.

I am a cupcake killer. Murder weapon: sugar. Yes, too much sugar will kill your cupcake dream.

IMG_1987 copy

How I ended up being the little baker that I am today without burning down my apartment…? I don’t know. Maybe you can tell me.

Untitled-3

So sitting here today, inhaling the fragrance exuded by the coconut… it brought back memories. It also made autumn look and feel a little less gloomy (and windy).

IMG_2016 copy

Having a slice of coconut bread with a cup of coffee, clinging on to whatever moments I have left of summer.

To Autumn, if we’re going to be friends, you need to stop forcefully blow dry my hair with your gust of wind. Retarded hair is not acceptable in society these days.

Otherwise, friendship will need to be reassessed.

IMG_2018 copy

****

Coconut Bread

Recipe from Smitten Kitchen

IMG_1999 copy

Ingredients:

2 large eggs
1 1/4 cups milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups  all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon table salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup castor sugar
1 1/2 cups sweetened flaked coconut
85 grams unsalted butter, melted or melted and browned, if desired

Method:

Heat oven to 175°C.

In a small bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and vanilla. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon. Add sugar and coconut, and stir to mix. Make a well in the center and pour in egg mixture, then stir wet and dry ingredients together until just combined. Add butter (I used browned butter), and stir until just smooth — be careful not to over mix.

Butter and flour a 9×5-inch loaf pan (I used a 8×4-inch loaf pan). Spread batter in pan and bake until a toothpick or thin blade inserted into the center comes out clean, approximately 1 to 1 1/4 hours. Cool in pan five minutes, before turning out onto a cooling rack.

I served mine in thick slices, plain. But you may have it toasted and served with butter and icing sugar.

Smitten Kitchen even suggested serving it with this: salted honey brown butter spread. If you try it, let me know how it goes.

One thought on “A Little Bit of Summer in Autumn: Coconut Bread

Leave a Reply

