There is Bacon in My Biscuit

IMG_1974 copy
Scones. Biscuits. One is English and the other American. One calls for cream and sugar while the other just buttermilk. Close cousins apparently – but whatever. I’ll eat it – scone or biscuit.

If the above is true, I’ve just made biscuits. According to Smitten Kitchen, yep, they are biscuits all right. It is her cookbook that I got this recipe. So honestly, who am I to question?

Biscuits it is.

Truth is I’ve been thinking a lot about biscuits (or maybe it’s scones…). Like right now. I don’t care if they’re stuffed with blueberries or bacon – just give them to me!

It appears I may be well and truly over my doughnut phase and straight into a scone/biscuit chapter. The former will make a comeback I’m sure. Good things always do – like floral print pants. I mean, I cannot imagine not ever getting the opportunity to put on that pair of floral pants my Mum once donned on the dancing floor. Okay, I cannot confirm if she did dancing floors but I’m pretty sure she wore floral pants. They are pretty…

Anyways, over the weekend, I realized I have extra bacon in the fridge… and I’ve recently spent a fortune on a gorgeous jar of maple syrup… then (!) in my brand spanking new (not really, Amazon ruined that experience for me) Smitten Kitchen cookbook, I found something called – Maple Bacon Biscuits.

IMG_1957 copy

It is a sign. *pump fist in the air*

But you know what is the best bit about all these? These babies are freezeable – no such word but I just made it official. So yes, you can make them ahead and keep frozen until the sudden need/urge for biscuits/bacon arises. All it asks for is a couple extra minutes of oven-loving.

IMG_1955 copy

Guess who’s got more than a dozen of biscuits sitting in her freezer right now?

So, here’s what I think I know – I want to dunk biscuits in hot gravy while I want to slather scones with butter and jam. That, in my opinion, is the difference between the two cousins. Which is fair enough because if my cousin starts talking, dressing and walking around like me, I’ll slap him/her and demand an immediate explanation – like, “What is wrong with you?!”

IMG_1983 copy

****

Maple Bacon Biscuits

Makes 6

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

 IMG_1969 copy

Ingredients:

3 slices bacon – 3 ounces / 85 grams
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
4 tbsp chilled butter, chopped into small chunks (if using shortening instead of bacon fat, increase to 5 tbsp)
1 tbsp chilled shortening, chopped into small chunks (only required if you are prefer to not use bacon fat)
1/4 cup buttermilk

Method:

In a hot pan, cook bacon until crisp. Remove from pan and drain on paper towels. Pour the bacon fat into a small dish and leave it in the freezer to solidify. You should get about 2 tablespoon of bacon fat. If you don’t, increase the amount of butter by whatever amount you are short.

In my case, pigs in Australia must be awfully skinny because I only managed a tablespoon! Then there was me, who was too impatient to wait for the bacon fat to solidify, so I used shortening that I have conveniently sitting in my fridge. Unless terrified of bacon fat or in a hurry, I don’t recommend you to follow my steps only because it will mean you miss out of the amazing fragrant from the bacon in your biscuit.

Dice bacon into small pieces and place in a small bowl. Add maple syrup to the bacon and set aside.

Pre-heat oven to 220°C. Line a tray with baking paper.

Mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt into food processor. Add butter and chilled bacon fat (or shortening, if using) – process until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Add the maple/bacon mixture and buttermilk into the mixture and stir gently to combine.

IMG_1948 copy

Once everything is evenly moistened, dump onto floured surface and knead a couple of times until it just comes together into a dough. Pat the dough until about an inch thick, using a two-inch cutter, cut into 6 biscuits.

IMG_1952 copy

IMG_1953 copy

Arrange biscuits on prepared tray and bake for 12 to 13 minutes, until golden and puffed.

IMG_1954 copy

Serve warm.

If frozen, allow the biscuit to bake for an extra couple of minutes.

IMG_1986 copy

 

2 thoughts on “There is Bacon in My Biscuit

Leave a Reply

