Not Quite Basic : Maple Olive Oil Banana Bread

IMG_1876 copy

Do you know anyone who dislike banana? I do. Though I can’t say I understand why. I have two bananas a day – obviously I’m the biggest fan. But I won’t eat bananas that are over ripened. What can I say? I’m a girl who knows what I want. (If I keep telling myself that, maybe one day it will become true.)

So what does a girl like me do when I have 5 almost dangerously over ripened bananas sitting on my kitchen bench?

I bring out THE white folder. It is the folder that holds all the recipes I’ve collected for the past few years and I flipped to ‘Bananas’ section…

Yeah, see, that never happened. There’s no ‘Bananas’ section in my folder. In fact, it is my entire recipe collection– from sweet to savoury to breakfast to dinner – untidily shoved into a folder that is white in colour.

But one is allowed to dream.

Anyways, with recipes scattered all over the floor – Banana Bread, Banana Bundt Cake, Banana Muffin, Banana Doughnuts… and then, ahah!

Maple Olive Oil Banana Bread.

Sounds about different enough – I like it.

So that is how I ended up with a loaf of not so basic banana bread sitting in my kitchen.

Besides, Mr Snax will be home in about an hour and if I know him well enough, he’ll be looking for some snacks as soon as he gets through that door.

IMG_1869 copy

****

MAPLE OLIVE OIL BANANA BREAD

makes 8 x 4 inch loaf

recipe adapted from Shutterbean

IMG_1877 copy

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (or 1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon oat flour)**
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt

The topping:

  • 2 tablespoons sugar**
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 175°C. Grease an 8 x 4 inch loaf pan. Line pan with baking paper, with the long sides overhanging. Butter the lined pan. Set aside.

In a bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda, salt and spices. Set aside.

IMG_1844 copy

IMG_1845 copy

In a mixing bowl, whisk together olive oil and brown sugar until combined. Add the maple syrup and vanilla, whisking until smooth. Add the eggs, one at time, beat until fully incorporated. Using a spatula or a wooden spoon, stir in the bananas, followed by the Greek yogurt. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Do not over mix.

IMG_1846 copy

Pour batter into prepared pan.

IMG_1847 copy

Mix together the sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle the topping over the batter. Allow cake to bake for about 60 minutes or until cake tester/thin blade inserted in the middle of the loaf comes out clean. Remove from oven and leave the bread to cool in its pan for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on wire rack.

IMG_1852 copy

IMG_1860 copy

**Note:

  • As I did not have whole wheat flour at the time, I used oat flour instead. I processed about 1.5 cups of traditional oats to make almost a cup of oat flour.
  • I did not have any Turbinado sugar (raw sugar) either so I used normal sugar instead.

IMG_1935 copy

4 thoughts on “Not Quite Basic : Maple Olive Oil Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

  2. Pingback: Doughnut Obsessions: Maple Olive Oil Doughnuts | Snaxilicous

Leave a Reply

