Saying Goodbye with Cheesecake-Swirled Brownies

IMG_1836 copy

I think I’ve learn one lesson today – You can never stop at one brownie. Ever.

As I’m writing this, I’m onto my third 2 x 2 inch cheesecake marbled brownie. What do I do?

I mentioned previously that my hairdresser, Janine, is returning to Germany. Well, the time has come and she has asked for me to bake her something.

Brownies are a good farewell gift. With a touch (massive touch in this case) of cream cheese – it became the perfect way to say goodbye.

IMG_1843 copy

Okay, fine. I’ve been looking at this bloody picture of Cream Cheese Marbled Brownies on Smitten Kitchen for many weeks now; just waiting for the perfect excuse occasion to bake it.

Anyways, because I accidentally (honestly!) forgot to add the egg white to the cream cheese, the OCD in me kicked in and there I went – racing to Coles to get another block of cream cheese to start all over again. This means, by the end of it all, I now have two batches of brownies. Excellent.

Who wants a slice? Be quick. Take them away. Because I have a strong feeling that I may just finish all these on my own.

IMG_1838 copy

PS: The egg white that was missing in action from the 1st batch of brownies didn’t cause much drama. If it did, it wasn’t noticeable and was still sinfully good.

****

Cheesecake-Swirled Brownies

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes 16 2-inch square, thick brownies

IMG_1823 copy

Brownie batter
113g butter, cut into pieces (I used salted)
85 g unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2/3 cup all-purpose flour

Cheesecake batter 
8 ounces cream cheese, well softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Plus
1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Brownie batter:

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 175°C.

To avoid burning the sides, I wrapped an 8-inch square baking pan with foil before lining pan with baking paper. Grease the baking paper with oil spray or butter.

I used the double-boiler style, heating butter and chocolate in a bowl over simmering water. Whisk occasionally until just melted. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar, eggs and vanilla until well combined. If using unsalted butter, add a pinch of salt. Stir in flour until just combined and spread in baking pan – save ¼ cup of batter and set aside.

Cheesecake batter:

Combine all cheesecake batter ingredients and whisk until smooth. Dollop over brownie batter and top it with the ¼ cup of brownie batter. Swirl in with a knife or spatula.

Sprinkle chocolate chips over cheesecake/brownie batter swirl.

IMG_1826 copy

Bake brownies:

Bake for about 35 minutes until edges are slightly puffed and center is just set, about 35 minutes.

IMG_1832 copy

Serve warm or at room temperature.

IMG_1831 copy

Leave a Reply

