Crooked Hot-Cross Buns

IMG_1791 copy

So the house is empty. Silent. I don’t do silence. Probably why I hated the library and why I used to study at a café with headphones on.

Mr Snax is away at the moment and I have the entire unit to myself. Suddenly my tiny city apartment appears huge. The mind is such a funny thing.

This should explain why I’ve been baking non-stop. It keeps me distracted. As for the silence, I’ve got the TV to handle that. I just put on some random show and let it play on until some random gun blast goes off, scaring the life out of me and the yeast, then I switch it to another channel.

Last night’s project was Hot Cross Buns. Before you go ape-crazy at me for baking hot-cross buns before Easter, I have a perfectly good reason.

I’m testing recipes. There are too many out there! Choices are not a blessing. They are conniving and a ploy to completely confuse you from knowing what you really want. By the end of it, you just get frustrated and end up with nothing because… suddenly, you just don’t know what you want anymore!

Anyways, it was a good thing I tested this recipe out because there’s surely no way I’ll be serving hot-cross buns with… crooked overlapping crosses to my guests during Easter.

I used Pioneer Woman’s recipe because I mean look at those buns! (Not her buns. I’ve not seen her buns but I’m sure they are more than decent) I was referring to the hot cross buns she made – the most adorable buns ever in Easter’s history! I did use a different icing recipe as hers calls for egg white and I’m not sure how I feel about raw egg white in icing. So instead I used icing sugar and milk and a dash of vanilla. The consistency was right, so it couldn’t be the icing.

IMG_1794 copy

It was probably me – getting impatient. Again. As usual. I never learn.

It was 9pm and I really wanted supper.

IMG_1797 copy

Even though my hot cross buns (at the moment) aren’t even close to being as cute as Pioneer Woman’s but I believe the quality is there.

In fact, I skipped my usual Weet-Bix and protein shake breakfast for toasted hot cross buns and butter.

PS: I tried making golf size balls like she stated in her recipe, but I somehow managed to turn them into tennis size balls. I am hopeless.

****

Hot Cross Buns

Servings: 18

Recipe adapted from Pioneer Woman

IMG_1795 copy

Ingredients

Buns

  • 2 cups Whole Milk
  • 1/2 cup Canola Oil
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1 package (2 1/4 Teaspoons) Active Dry Yeast
  • 4 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup (additional) Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 2 teaspoons Salt
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • Spices: Cardamom, Nutmeg, Allspice (optional)
  • 1/2 cup Raisins

Glaze

  • 1 whole Egg White
  • Splash Of Milk

Icing

  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 4 teaspoon milk
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla essence

Preparation Instructions

Buns

In a medium or large saucepan, combine 2 cups of milk, canola oil, ½ cup of sugar – stir and heat until very warm but not boiling. Turn off the heat and let the mixture cool until just warm.

Sprinkle yeast over mixture. Add 4 cups of flour and stir to combine. Mixture will be sticky. Cover with towel and set aside to rise for 1 hour.

Once dough has risen, add ½ cup flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and stir until combined.

In a small bowl, combine ¼ sugar with cinnamon and other spices – I added nugmet, allspice and cardamom.

Place dough on a lightly floured surface. Slightly flatten dough before sprinkling a couple of tablespoons of the cinnamon-sugar-spice mixture. Add 1/3 of the raisins. Fold the dough over on itself and flatten again. Repeat the sugar mixture and raisin process then fold the dough again. Repeat a third time until raisins are used. You will have leftover cinnamon-sugar-spice mixture.

IMG_1788 copy

Pinch off golf ball-size dough and with floured hands, quickly roll it into a ball then turn the edges under themselves slightly. Place them on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

IMG_1785 copy

Cover and allow rising for another hour.

Pre-heat oven to 205°C.

Glaze

Whisk 1 egg white with a splash of milk. Brush onto each bun.

Once done, bake for 20 minutes, or until buns have turned nice and golden brown.

Remove from pan to cool on cooling rack.

Icing

Whisk icing sugar, milk and vanilla together until combined with the needed consistency. If it is too thin, add icing sugar. If it is too thick, add more milk.

Add the icing into a small Ziploc bag and snip the corner. Make icing crosses on each roll – be sure that the buns have cooled.

IMG_1798 copy

 

Leave a Reply

