Peanut Butter + Banana + (Choc Chips) = Dreamy Doughnuts

IMG_1742 copy

This doughnut phase is unstoppable.

Just as I was about to start mingling with long lost friends such as brownies, cookies and cakes… I got suck right back in. This time around with bananas and peanut butter glaze. Then when I added chocolate chip to the batter…

Oh em gee, this is doughnut heaven.

I promise this will be my last doughnut talk for a while. Perhaps we’ll have time for a quick relapse next week…

I kid!

If you’re up for some adventure today, I recommend you try this. It really is quite dreamy…

IMG_1752 copy

Perhaps this obsession of mine with these round goodness is due to being deprived of a doughnut birthday cake on my 21st birthday. Like I said before, I never was a doughnut fan but I really wanted a doughnut cake. I cannot in my life tell you why. I am random. That is about it. So I’m probably making up for the lost time.

Did I mention that’s 5 years worth of lost time?

I’ve just had my 4th doughnut today. That should about do it. For now.

****

Banana Doughnuts with Peanut Butter Frosting

Makes 12

Recipe adapted from Shutterbean

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups mashed ripe bananas (3 bananas)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • chocolate chip (optional, but not really!)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 175°C.

IMG_1733 copy

In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. In a small bowl, whisk eggs, granulated sugar, mashed bananas, vanilla and oil together. The wet ingredient is then folded into the dry until combined. Add chocolate chips now if using any.

IMG_1735 copy

Spoon the batter into prepared pans – fill up to about ¾ full. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden and a toothpick (or thin blade) inserted comes out dry.

IMG_1746 copy

Leave on a rack to cool completely.

While the doughnuts are cooling, place butter in a small pan over medium-high heat until melted and browned – took me about 3 to 4 minutes. Place the peanut butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds until melted and smooth. Add the browned butter to the peanut butter and slowly sift in the icing sugar – mix until smooth.

Dip the doughnut into the peanut butter frosting.

IMG_1737 copy

I believe it is now time to devour some dreamy doughnuts! I finished my doughnut before my Nespresso finished brewing my coffee.

IMG_1748 copy

Oh well, just means I get to have another one with my coffee! Win!

IMG_1754 copy

Leave a Reply

