Chocolate Swirl Bun – The Life Completer

choc swirl bun 4

I swear I was procrastinating even before I knew the word procrastinating. It would only be appropriate if it is made my middle name – not that it will go well with my first or last name but that’s not the point.

In the midst of procrastinating, I’ve managed to complete a substantial research on the best primer to replace my current Laura Mercier which is running out and to be honest, wasn’t all that great on my skin. When done with primer, I went on to start on daytime moisturizer research. Somehow along the way, in between researches, I’ve managed to purchase two cookbooks by two of my favourite food bloggers – Joy The Baker and Smitten Kitchen.

Yes, all that to avoid getting into the topic of Superannuation.

Honestly, am I a pro or am I a pro at procrastinating?

So, besides accepting the fact that I was born to procrastinate, I have also found the ultimate secret to a happy life. Oh yes I have and the best part is… I will be sharing this life changing secret with you.

Three words : Chocolate Swirl Buns.

Oh. My. God. Or if you think you’re cool … you may say O-M-G.

Chocolate. Bread. Cinnamon… and then a cup of coffee. My life is complete.

Thank you Smitten Kitchen.

If I get knocked by a bus running to the gym tomorrow morning to work off these amazing buns, I will have no regrets.

Every bite oozed with so much amazingness – I swear I was on some sort of bread/chocolate heaven. My brain goes into an overload, “Gimme gimme gimme!!!” Then it released hormones of some sort that makes me want to stuff all 12 buns into my mouth. Yes, all at the same time.

Brain orgasm? Sorry. That was kinda gross. But you get what I mean.

It is THAT good. I’m thinking everyone should experience brain orgasm at least once in their lifetime. Go on… do it.

***

choc swirl bun

With this recipe, I used whole milk rather than lite milk like I normally would because I realized that the former creates a softer and smoother bun. Check out the beautiful round dough.

choc swirl buns 2

Rolling in the filling into a log. Cut the log into 1-inch segments before placing into the well-buttered muffin tin.

Chocolate Swirl Buns

Yield: 12 muffin-sized buns

choc swirl bun 3

Dough
1/2 cup (120 ml) full-cream milk
1/4 cup (50 grams) plus a pinch of granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons (5 grams) active dry yeast
1 large egg
2 cups (250 grams) all-purpose flour, plus more for work surface
1/2 teaspoon table salt
3 tablespoons (45 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus additional for bowl and muffin tins

Filling
3 tablespoons (45 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated sugar
1/2 pound (225 grams) milk chocolate chip
Pinch of salt
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Egg wash
1 egg
2 teaspoons (10 ml) heavy cream or milk

To prepare dough: Sprinkle yeast over warm milk with a pinch of sugar and let stand until foamy – this takes about 5 to 10 minutes. In a small bowl, whisk together egg and remaining ¼ cup sugar until combine. When yeast is ready, slowly whisk into the egg mixture.

In a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine flour and salt. On low speed, add egg mixture. Once combined, add butter and mix until incorporated. Switch mixer to dough hook and let it knead the dough for 10 minutes on low speed. The dough should be sticky but firm. Place dough in a large greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise for 1 hour, or until doubled.

To prepare filling: Add chocolate chip, salt, sugar and cinnamon in a food processor, pulse until chocolate is finely chopped. Add butter and pulse machine until it’s distributed throughout the chocolate. If you do not have a food processor, chop the chocolate until fine, stir in the sugar, salt, cinnamon and butter until it makes a chunky paste. Set aside.

Grease a 12-muffin tin with butter, be generous. Set aside.

To form buns: Once the dough is doubled, turn it out onto a well-floured surface and gently deflate it with floured hands. Roll dough into a large rectangle – allow the long side to roll out as long as you are able to roll it. If the dough pulls back when you’re rolling it out, let it rest for 5 minutes. Once rested, you should be able to roll the dough with ease. The short side should be about 11 to 12 inches.

Sprinkle the filling evenly over the dough’s surface – it’ll be chunky and uneven but just try to spread it as consistently as possible. Tightly roll the dough back over the filling from the short end. Using a sharp serrated knife or you may use floss like I did, gently cut 1-inch segments off the log and place each in the prepared muffin cup. Cover buns with cling wrap or a towel and allow to rise for another 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to (180°C).

To bake: In a small bowl, whisk the egg and cream until smooth. Brush the buns with the egg wash. Bake buns for 15 to 20 minutes until puffed and brown. Allow buns to cool in my pan.

Leave a Reply

