The Sour Cream Coffee Cake. Are You In or Out?

I have a small tub of sour cream sitting in the fridge for the last two weeks and it has been bugging me. Bugged me even more when I checked the ‘best by’ date and it is due to expire any moment now. Okay fine, it was expiring over the weekend.

But just like I don’t need an excuse to go shopping for more clothes/shoes, I don’t need an excuse to bake a cake. It’s a bonus when the cake requires sour cream. I like not having to waste anything. A good but painful habit – it got me gaining 10kg in my first year in Sydney. The serving size in Malaysia is about 1/3 of the portion here. Due to being adamant to not wasting, I finished everything on my plate – 12 months later, I was no longer the skinny girl I once was when I arrived at the Sydney Airport.

In fact, the first thing Mom said to me when she saw me at the airport in Malaysia upon my arrival back home was, “Oh my God, you’re fat.”

Right, thanks Mom. It has been 12 months, I’ve missed you too.

I apologise for digressing. Where was I?…

Oh yes, sour cream.

So yes, I turned that little tub of sour cream in my fridge into Shutterbean’s Mum’s Sour Cream Coffee Cake.

I hate that my cake does not look as perfect as hers. But that’ll be my lesson learned for being completely incapable of being patient! However, can you blame me? There it was… an amazing smelling cake in its Bundt pan on my kitchen bench. It needs to get out. I need to look at it. I know I need to wait 20 minutes. Honestly, what is 20 minutes?

10 minutes later, I’ve turned the cake out onto a cooling rack.

FAIL.

I’m referring to my non-existence patience. The cake was fine.

Probably could’ve been more than fine if I just find some sort of resistance inside me to stop needing to do everything immediately. Again, due to my inability to wait, I got overly excited and covered the not-yet-completely cooled cake with frosting. Sigh.

Where does one sign-up to get some lessons on patience and calmness? All these overexcitement about everything will give me a heart attack or stroke one day.

So here, I’m sharing Shutterbean’s Mom’s cake recipe… I followed everything as it is except for the glaze. I don’t have maple syrup at home so I substituted it with honey instead. Worked well but I think because honey has a thicker consistency, the glaze was really quite thick. But really, is thick consistency a problem?

Not in my books.

Also, there isn’t any coffee in this coffee cake but served with a cup of coffee… there is nothing else better.

Enjoy.

***

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

adapted from Shutterbean

858856_10151411684899500_315516909_o

1202013132027

Ingredients:

For the Cake:

  • 340g of butter
  • 1 ½ cups caster sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups of sour cream
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons water

Honey Frosting/Glaze

  • 1 ¼ cups of icing sugar
  • ½ cup of honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method:

Preheat oven to 160°C.

Add butter and caster sugar in a large bowl and beat together until light and fluffy. Add the 1 ½ teaspoon of vanilla extract, then the eggs, one at time beating well after each addition. Stir in the sour cream. Add the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda and soda to the mixture and stir until combine.

In a small bowl, combine chopped walnuts, cinnamon and brown sugar.

In a greased and floured Bundt pan, add 1/3 of the batter and sprinkle 1/3 of the nut mixture. Continue layering to make three layers of each, ending with the nut mixture.

Combine vanilla and water in a mug/bowl and drizzle it over the top of the cake mixture.

Allow the cake to bake for about 60 to 80 minutes – it’s ready if thin knife/toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean. Mine took about 65 minutes.

If you want a prettier cake than mine, allow it to cool in the pan for 20 minutes on a wire rack before turning it out.

Mix the icing sugar, honey (or you may use maple syrup like the original recipe if you have some) and vanilla together until a thick consistency is formed.

Drizzle glaze on top of the cooled cake and serve. Be sure the cake is cooled or else you’ll end up with melted/runny looking glaze on your cake.

Leave a Reply

