Honeydew Sago To Sweeten It All Up

Does anyone else out there feels like they’ve lost their best friend or is it just me? No, I haven’t actually lost my best friend. Well, at least I don’t think so. But I’ve just been feeling so tired and exhausted I might as well have.

Maybe it’s the weather; maybe I’m just really homesick during this festive season or maybe it’s because I have this really thick Superannuation reading material in front of me which I have 3 months to complete and know almost absolutely nothing about.

Is there a recipe to cure this fatigue?

I’ve been indulging on the Honeydew Sago (Tapioca Pearls) dessert I made on Sunday night. I love that it is refreshing and the little sago and chunky honeydew gives the dessert a great texture. I like dessert that I can chew on. I also like dessert that I can’t chew on.

I really like dessert. Period.

I finally finished the entire lot last night – I had 3 servings. My self-control is embarrassing, zero, non-existent. I am shameful.

But don’t be so quick to judge – if you’re a fan of fruit beverage dessert, I dare you to make some and not want to finish the whole lot in one sitting.

In fact, you know what… I’m thinking I might even experiment it when some alcohol – who knows, I might just come up with the most ingenious concoction. This sounds like the perfect recipe that I’ve been looking for to cure fatigue. What say you? Agree?

For now, let’s make some Asian dessert while I’ve still got some dose of it left in me.

I went to the markets on Saturday to get some fruits and found myself a ripe honeydew. How do you actually know if the fruit is ripe? According to Snax’s manual, you tap the fruit… if it sounds ‘deep’ it should be good to go. Also, if the fruit has brown freckling all over it, it’s good. I mean, we get wrinkles as we get older don’t we? It should apply to fruits too. Older = Riper = Sweeter. Not sure if it really does work like that for all of us human though….. But like I said, that’s according to my manual and God knows where I got them from – I promise I didn’t just conjure up my little ‘knowledge’ from thin air. I definitely was told. But whether it is reliable or not… don’t hold me responsible. I could’ve just been lucky.

honeydew sago

Lucky I was, I cut the well-ripen honeydew into half – 1st half being chopped into large chunks and into the food processor it went to be pureed while the 2nd half being cut up into tiny cubes. Add the pureed and cubed honeydew into a large bowl and set aside.

You could always have added the sago into boiling water before Operation Honeydew so you don’t have to wait around 15 minutes for the sago to cook. But because I was new to this, I wanted to make sure I don’t accidentally overcook and melt the sago. No, I don’t know if they melt. I assume if I leave them in boiling water for too long they might just give up and give way.

So,

Boiling water – check

Sago – check.

It took about 15 minutes with occasional stirring before the lot completely turned translucent. You’ll then need to sift the sago and rinse it with cold water. Again, set it aside.

It’s time to make some syrup – which was a simple task… hot water and sugar and let it dissolve into a syrupy texture.

Then the easiest of them all, add the sago to the fruit mixture, add the coconut milk, and then add the syrup according to how sweet you like your dessert. Stir well to combine and leave it to refrigerate for a few hours. I left mine overnight and it thickened really well and it was just divine.

honeydew sago 1

I might try it with a rockmelon next time.

Are you game enough to give it a go?

Honeydew Sago

Ingredients:

1 Honeydew (½ pureed, ½ cubed)
¾ cup of sago (tapioca pearls)
1 cup of coconut milk
½ cup sugar
6 cups of water

Method:

1. In a pot of boiling water, add sago and leave to boil for 10 to 15 minutes, or until the sago turns translucent. Give it an occasional stir to avoid them from sticking.

2. Once done, rinse the sago with cold water with a strainer. Set aside.

3. Slice the honeydew in half. Puree the first half and cut the second half into small cubes. Set aside.

4. Using a pot, add sugar to the boiling water until dissolved and turns into syrup. Leave to cool.

5. Once the syrup is cooled – In a large bowl add the honeydew, sago, coconut milk and mix well to combine before adding the syrup. The amount of syrup to add will be according to how sweet you want the dessert to be.

6. Cover and allow the dessert to chill in the refrigerator for at least a few hours before serving.

***
PS: I just tried making French toast with a slice of the Cinnamon Swirl Bread – mind blowing.

Just absolutely the bestest thing ever.

So, I’m having it again for lunch. Can’t get enough!

Leave a Reply

