Happy Chinese New Year

or as my Dad prefers it, “Gong Hei Fatt Choi”. Which is Happy New Year in Cantonese – he doesn’t speak the dialect but yes, he wishes to be wished in Cantonese. Uh huh. He is a funny man and I love him to bits.

1282013145730You know as a child, I love Chinese New Year for 3 reasons – new clothes, new clothes and red packet. To Chinese, a new year means new everything – sort of. I believe there’s some superstitious reason behind it. But I wouldn’t be able to tell you what it is.

Come to think about it, I’m not sure why I was that excited about the new clothes back then. Mum used to pick my clothes. I literally had no say in what I wear until I was at least 15 or 16 years old. Not to say she has horrible taste in clothes but can you imagine being 13 and walking around dressed up like your Mum? The word tragic just doesn’t even begin to describe it.

The red packet is self-explanatory. I mean, there’s money in that red packet. I want it – the more the better.

So anyways, I was on the phone with Dad the other day and like the old-fashioned Chinese he is reminded me that I need to be clad in new clothing on the first day of Chinese New Year. Hah, like I need more encouragement to shop.

Yes – I now have a new outfit waiting to be worn. I cannot wait!

Happy Chinese New Year to all of you – May you be eating loads and receiving countless red packets!

Unless you’re married, well then, the game changes. Please hand over the red packet now. 😉

For now, I’m off to prepare a small feast to make me feel closer to home this festive season. Hopefully it’ll reduce the homesickness. 😦

Leave a Reply

