If it’s Condensed, it’s Serious

Condensed milk cookies – there is something about it that I’m unsure of.

Maybe it’s because I’m a sceptic and I don’t like the unknown.

Maybe it’s the fact that 200g of condensed milk can bake about 48 cookies.

“And…?” you may ask.

Problem: I have the weirdest pet hate – having to open something and not being able to finish the entire lot, fully knowing I will most likely have to throw it out in a week.

I have a 400g can of condensed milk. I don’t want to put the remaining 200g to waste – I can almost imagine Mum shaking her head at the fact that I’m about to waste perfectly good condensed milk. But do I really want 96 cookies? Is it even safe to have so many cookies in one’s home – and my home of all homes?!

Sin of the day: How can there EVER be too bloody many damn cookies?

Honestly.

Besides, getting fat is better than having Mum in my head – shaking her head disapprovingly at me.

I’m going to do it.

***

180g of butter is a bloody lot of butter.

I chopped the lot up into cubes before putting them into the mixer bowl with a bearable 1/2 cup of caster sugar – and switched my mixer on and let the two wonders do their tango. What a match made in heaven.

Once light and fluffy, I hesitantly added the 1/2 cup of condensed milk. I was still sceptical – like what the hell am I doing? Suddenly, I feel like I was at the edge of the Kawarau Bridge trying to toss myself off the edge all over again- at least during the bungy jump, my legs were tied to a rope. In this case, there was no going back.

I’m so dramatic – I think its the MSG added to the rice cracker that I’ve been chomping all day long. Maybe it’s genetic. I blame Mum.

The mixture immediately turned creamy… in a good way. It was really pretty. I was almost sad when I added the self-raising flour and *poof*… alright, back to work. I let the mixer slowly combine the flour and wet mixture together.

When done, I separated 1/3 of the dough into another bowl. While the rest gets chocolate chip goodies, feeling creative – the separated dough, they get 100s and 1000s.

The fun part: rolling the dough into round balls, placing them on lined baking tray and then flattening them. Sometimes when I get overly excited; the cookie dough get a good squash. Whoops. Unless you like really thin cookies, let’s not be like me.

For the ones with 100s and 1000s, I placed lots and lots of 100s and 1000s in a bowl and then flatten the rolled-up dough on it. That way the 100s and 1000s get stuck on the bottom. I then gently place the flattened-100s-and-1000s-filled-cookie-dough on the baking tray.

One thing I realized is they do spread quite a bit in the oven, so be sure to space the cookie dough well. They don’t take too long in the oven, about 10 to 15 minutes (depending on how big I made my cookie) in a 160°C fan-forced oven.

condensed milk cookies

The verdict: It’s different. I have my usual favourite when it comes to Chocolate Chip cookies – soft and chewy. This on the other is firmer, chewier. It’s not bad. In fact, some people may prefer it – but not my favourite. However, I’ve had a record 4 cookies already. What do I know?

**

I think I just broke the rice cracker eating record – 24 crackers in 5 minutes while typing away. I need to sign myself up for Rice Cracker Anonymous ASAP.

CONDENSED MILK CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
Adapted from Nestle

180g unsalted butter, softened (2/3 cup)
1/3 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
1 1/2 cups self raising flour
Pinch salt
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (Or any other toppings of choice)

Preheat the oven to 160°C and line a few trays with baking paper.

Using an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the condensed milk until well incorporated.

Add flour and salt to the wet ingredients, and mix on a low speed until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Roll tablespoons of the dough into balls, place on the lined trays (2” apart) and flatten with your finger/palm.

Bake for 10 – 15 minutes, depending on the size of your cookies, until golden.

Should make approximately 48 cookies – unless you like to be very generous with the size of your cookies like I do!

Leave a Reply

