Withdrawal: Feta & Chives to the Rescue!… Updated*

My holiday has made me a very lazy person. So after 2 rounds of grocery shopping and a dozen of feta & chives sour cream scones fresh out of the oven – I cannot find the strength at this current moment to be funny and witty enough to write… or shower.

Who knew life can be this exhausting after doing absolutely nothing for 12 days?

I will resume writing this post possibly later this afternoon… or maybe tomorrow….. BUT have I got some beautiful pictures to show you! 🙂

Image

Can I just tell you – I absolutely love Holiday Snax. She is a little crazy (A LOT CRAZY) and does things I never thought I’ll do. She bungy jumps (craziest thing I’ve ever done), she kayaks (even though she can’t swim to save her own life) and she’s not afraid to get her hair wet in crazy jet-boating. She also eats MASSIVE burgers – in one sitting. FERGBURGER. Google it. I’m a convert. It’s my new religion. I even have a cap to prove it… and a menu – I’ve been studying it like a bible.

555205_10151340201399500_417988365_nI love Sydney and I call myself a city girl. But I would give up all these high-rise buildings surrounding me for the beautiful mountains I’ve been gazing longingly at for the last 12 days in a heartbeat. Of course, the deal also comes with the beautiful crystal clear fresh water.

However, I’m glad to be home. I’m closer to my Mix Master and oven – so now I’m on a baking craze. To make up for the 12 non-baking days!

Apparently, baking scones are in – both savoury and sweet.

I’ve found a winner – Feta and Chives Sour Cream scones. Was it the chives or was it the sour cream that blew my mind more? I can’t decide but the flavor and the texture was… intense. Maybe it was the feta. The combination is almost as genius as salt in chocolate/caramel.

Special being that I am, I need balance… like yin and yang. So I decided, I totally needed to bake sweet scones – I found raisins and dates in my pantry… SCORE! There you go, 22 scones baked in the last 24 hours. I’m out of control!

Things I’ve learned in the last 48 hours upon my arrival:

  • When deprived of baking for 12 days, I want to bake EVERYTHING.
  • After 12 days of doing nothing, not even 2 coffees can make me productive. Not even a glass of wine and a bowl of fries. Apparently doing nothing is so amazing I just want to keep doing nothing.
  • I need another holiday to get over my last holiday. Desperately. I’m thinking Honolulu. Is anyone feeling generous? I’ll trade you some yummy baked goods.

So, who’s up for a bungy jumping challenge? I managed the 43m – even got a certificate and t-shirt to prove it. There is another called Nevi’s which is at 134m. If you’ve not heard or seen it, you should totally YouTube it. Just try to keep the pants clean shall we? You can thank me later for shortening your life by scaring you so bad with the video.

Here, let me share this mind-blowing scones recipe that came to my rescue and kept me sane. (Remember, a holiday in return. Thank you.)

Feta and Chive Sour Cream Scones

Adapted from Joy The Baker

makes about 12 small scones

197538_10151349749354500_569385891_n

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons cold water
  • 3/4 cup sour cream, cold
  • 1/3 cup chopped chives
  • 3/4 cup big crumbles of feta cheese
  • 1 egg beaten for egg wash
  • coarse sea salt, cracked black pepper, and smoky paprika for topping

Place rack in the center and upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

Using a food processor, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and black pepper. Add butter and process until mixture resembles a coarse meal. In another bowl, combine egg, sour cream, and water.  Beat lightly with a fork.  Add to flour mixture all at once, stirring enough to make a soft and shaggy dough.  Add the chives and feta and dump mixture on a clean counter to knead the dough together.  The mixture will come together in about 10 to 15 kneads.

Roll or pat out into a 1-inch thickness.  Cut into 2-inch rounds using a biscuit cutter or cut into 2×2-inch squares.  Reshape and roll dough to create more biscuits with excess scraps.    Place on prepared baking sheet, brush with egg wash and sprinkle with coarse sea salt, black pepper, and smoky paprika.   Bake for 12-15 minutes.  Serve warm.  These biscuits are best eaten the day they’re made, but will last up to 2 days.

Leave a Reply

