Snax & The City

Are you a fan of Carrie Bradshaw?

Because I’m a big big fan. I’m a big fan of anyone who can pull off a Chanel tee and a midi tutu skirt combination. Amazing.

So while Carrie sits with her leg up on the table, taking puff after puff of the toxic stick when writing, I decided drinking a glass of wine and eating mango would be my signature style. Okay, so the mango was a blunder. Wait, the wine was the blunder.

Never-mind, here’s what  happened – I was going to have mango, then I got excited by the chilled wine in my fridge. Life’s too short to decide which to have – so I am having both. Such first world problem. Such a want-it-all.

So… remember how I challenged myself to bake the Black Forest cheesecake? Well, I’m dividing the making of the cake into three day-challenge.

Part 1: Chocolate biscuit base

Part 2: Cheese filling

Part 3: Topping

Well, Part 1 accomplished. Here’s the proof.

chocolate biscuit base

Part 2 will be resumed tomorrow.

This may be my second cheesecake but it’ll be my first no-bake cake. Then, of course, the first cheesecake didn’t turn out as pretty as I had hoped for. So I’m a little unsure of what to expect with this one.

japanese cheesecake 3You may find this interesting… or you may find me weird but I learned that you can stare, beg, moan, sulk, make funny faces at the cake as much as you want – it doesn’t respond. It stays ugly. I am not crazy. Thank you very much. Just willing to try anything.

It was a Japanese cheesecake. If you haven’t tried it before and you’re a fan of light fluffy cheesecake, you totally should.

But if you are a perfectionist like me, be forewarned – You might follow the recipe word for word, i.e. Baking the cheesecake with a tray of boiling water at the bottom of the oven, leaving the cake to cool in the oven for an hour (no curiousity allowed! Leave it alone!) and then a further 2 hours with the oven door slightly opened, but it does not promise a perfect cheesecake. Unless, well, you’re a cheesecake guru then well, I guess you’re just better than me at it isn’t it?!

Anyways, after all that patience and getting a less than perfect cake irked me so bad. I remember being very tempted to rush to Coles to get another block of cream cheese just to start all over again… and again (if I have to) until it’s nothing less than perfect.

Such OCD”, I can just hear my partner say while shaking his head.

Fortunately, it tasted better than it looks – light and wonderfully fluffy. Absolutely divine.

Unfortunately, it meant I ‘accidentally’ had 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

