Time for Reflection

Have you ever been so excited you find yourself in a daze because it almost feels like a dream?

I woke up yesterday morning with a mission. I needed to bake biscotti.

Why? I don’t know.

I’m not a fan – only because I rarely ever had any. But I saw photos of these Candied Pecan Biscotti and then I saw the recipe (I like to make sure the recipe doesn’t involve intimidating ingredients!)… I was hooked.

For weeks I couldn’t stop thinking of making them, so I finally did. I swear it was as if I had a hunch I was going to purchase a coffee machine and I needed a sweet complement to go with the coffee that I will be making at home from here on.

So right out of bed, I switched the oven on; cracked an egg, separated the yolk from the whites; whisked the egg white until it foamed into white bubbles before adding in the sugar, spices (and everything nice!) and salt. Then the best bit: I added the pecans and got them all nicely coated before tossing them onto a prepared baking sheet and off into the oven for 30 minutes.

The mission was ON!

418725_10151291021404500_1921948179_n
I went on making the biscotti once the nuts were in the oven. Not knowing what to expect, I was surprised to see the dough coming about and it wasn’t crumbly. In fact, it was almost like cookie dough – just less oily. I divided the dough into two and shaped them into logs.

40 minutes later – I nervously cut the biscotti into ½-inch wide diagonal slices; placed the biscotti on their sides and sprinkled more cinnamon sugar goodies (one can never EVER have enough of cinnamon sugar) before moving the tray back into the oven.

IMG_20121231_184338
If these babies aren’t perfect, then the definition of perfect is incorrect. I dare you to disagree.

Two hours later, I was home (greeted by the smell of warm sweetness of the biscotti) with the Nespresso coffee machine I’ve been wanting for YEARS. So as you may have guessed, I made coffee with my new machine with frothy milk (oh, don’t get me started on the froth the milk frother makes – amazing!) and served it with a slice of biscotti.

406141_10151291169614500_1244737045_n

Honestly, I should get myself checked for psychic ability.

To digress from the biscotti, even though we should totally never stop talking about these goodness – but, how was your 2012? Was it everything you wanted it to be?

I have mixed feelings about the year 2012 – It has been the best of times but it has also been the worst of times.

But I guess to look at it at a more positive light, we can all learn a thing or two from our experiences through the year – the good and bad, and make the year ahead a better one.

Happy New Year to all of you!

Leave a Reply

