Bake ‘em Sexy Doughnuts

IMG_1728 copy

Every time I look at my ‘rolling pin’ I find myself questioning my credibility as a baker. I cannot take it seriously. It looks majorly like a toy.

Honestly.

IMG_1729

I need to get me one of those serious looking rolling pins.

Okay, you may stop laughing now. I can hear you.

No, seriously, stop. I’m feeling pretty darn offended.

So offended I went straight to the kitchen to make some of those glorious doughnuts. I think I live, eat, sleep, think and dream about them.

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuts.

I think I’m having a doughnut crisis of some sort. Is this similar to men’s mid-life crisis? Though I think men completely made that one up – such drama queens. Okay, men readers, if there are any, please don’t throw anything at me! Well, unless it is doughnuts, then hurry the hell up!

So, instead of fast cars and super-bikes, I want doughnuts. Give me the damn doughnuts.

This relationship… it has just gotten serious. I’m even considering changing my blog name to Doughnut-licious.

Too intense?

IMG_1712 copy

If only men are less dramatic complicated with their ‘mid-life’ crisis. If only doughnuts can sort them out. 

IMG_1717 copy

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuts

Makes 6

Recipe adapted from Shutterbean

IMG_1723 copy

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the topping

  • 3 tablespoons (45g) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease doughnut pan with butter or cooking spray.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.

Using another bowl, whisk together the egg, buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla extract. Pour into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

Fill the mixture into a resealable sandwich bag, snip off the corner and pipe the batter into the pan – about slightly more than ¾ full.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes – check it with a toothpick or a thin blade, it should come out clean and the doughnuts are nicely puffed and lightly browned.

Allow the doughnuts to cool in the pan for 5 minutes inverting onto a rack.

Leave the doughnuts to cool (I’m serious!) and make the topping.

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together sugar and cinnamon.

IMG_1720 copy

Brush the warm doughnuts with melted butter; dip them into the cinnamon sugar mixture on one or both sides.

IMG_1722 copy

These babies are ready to be served – either warm or room temperature.

IMG_1724 copy

One thought on “Bake ‘em Sexy Doughnuts

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

